234 Sunset Avenue,
1 person favorited this theater
Sunset Theatre - Asheboro (Official)
Architects: William C. Holleyman Jr.
Styles: Spanish Colonial
Previous Names: Flick
This theatre was built in 1928 by the Cox Family of Asheboro, NC. The facility opened as the Sunset Theatre in 1930. The theatre was operated by Francis White and later by Dick Stone. The theatre closed as a first run house in 1969. It reopened in the 1970’s as the Flick. The theatre closed as a movie house in 1979. The theatre was sold to Jeff Schwartz in 1981.
Over the years the facility was used as a church. The theatre was sold again in 2001 to the George Washington Carver Enrichment Center. After failing to renovate and provide proper upkeep of the facility, it was sold to the City of Asheboro in December of 2005. The facility is now under the umbrella of the Asheboro Parks and Recreation Department. A monthly film series titled “The Sunset Classic Film Series” showcases classic movies from yesteryear. Plays and concerts are also held regularly.
Just login to your account and subscribe to this theater.