45 Palmerstone Road,
No one has favorited this theater yet
Architects: Alan W. Ruddle
Firms: Smith & Robinson
Previous Names: Woodston Cinema, Gem Cinema
A suburban cinema, the Woodston Cinema was converted from brewery buildings to the plans of Leicester based architectural firm Smith & Robinson. It opened on 29th March 1920 with “The Girl Who Came Back” and had 400 seats. Closed in 1931, being the last cinema in the city to convert to sound. It was altered and enlarged to 500 seats to the plans of architect Alan W. Ruddle, and re-opened on 26th December 1933 as the Gem Cinema. It had a 20 feet wide proscenium, the stage was 8 feet deep and there were two dressing rooms.
A change of proprietor caused a renaming to Savoy Cinema in 1939 and post-war it was run by H. Miller. Closed on 1st October 1955 with John Payne in “The Blazing Forest” and Ray Milland in “Rhubarb”. It became a furniture store for John Blundell, then became a warehouse. It was not in use in 1991, and has since been demolished and housing built on the site.
Just login to your account and subscribe to this theater.