Gem Theater

834 Main Street,
Willimantic, CT 06226

Unfavorite No one has favorited this theater yet

Additional Info

Previously operated by: Warner Bros. Circuit Management Corp.

Functions: Gymnasium

Nearby Theaters

Willimantic CT Gem Theatre

The Gem Theater was built as a dedicated silent movie theatre and opened on September 25, 1912. Following a remodel and the installation of an Austin organ, it was reopened on April 20, 1926. By 1941 it was operated by Warner Bros. Circuit Management Corp. and was listed as (Closed). The Gem Theater has been closed since the early-1960’s. The building was incorporated with the neighboring building to the west, to become the new YMCA in 1966. The interior was heavily modified and the facade was covered with stylized concrete blocks. From the street, this appears as one building.

Contributed by Sanford Rand

Recent comments (view all 4 comments)

rsalters (Ron Salters)
rsalters (Ron Salters) on August 26, 2012 at 10:13 am

In the long lists of theater chains in the 1942-43 Motion Picture Almanac, the Gem and the Capitol in Willimantic are both listed under Warner Brothers Circuit Management of New York. However, the Gem is listed as “Closed” at that time.

Joe Vogel
Joe Vogel on November 24, 2013 at 9:34 am

The August 29, 1941, issue of The Film Daily had this item about the Gem Theatre:

“Warners Start Project For Modernizing Gem

“New Haven — Warner Bros. Circuit Management Corp. will start renovation of the 750-seat Gem, Willimantic, dark for several years, to be opened some time in October. Warner’s will operate the Gem, in conjunction with the Capitol in the same town, recently renovated.”

Joe Vogel
Joe Vogel on November 24, 2013 at 9:52 am

The Gem Theatre opened on September 25, 1912, according to a 1920 book, A Modern History of Windham County, Connecticut, by Allen B. Lincoln. The owner of the house was Arthur P. Dorman, who had earlier taken over operation of the Scenic Temple, another early Willimantic movie house.

Joe Vogel
Joe Vogel on November 12, 2017 at 11:44 pm

The May 1, 1926, issue of Moving Picture World said that Hoffman Enterprises had reopened the Gem Theatre in Willimantic on April 20. The company had bought the house on February 1 and closed it for extensive remodeling, which included the installation of a new ventilation system and an Austin organ. Hoffman retained as manager John R. Pickett, who had been in charge of the house since its opening in 1912.

You must login before making a comment.

New Comment

Subscribe Want to be emailed when a new comment is posted about this theater?
Just login to your account and subscribe to this theater.