
Komoro Central Theater
1-25 Otemachi,
Komoro City, Nagano Prefecture,
Nagoya
384-0804
No one has favorited this theater yet
Additional Info
Nearby Theaters
Opened in May 1950 by the Komoro Chuo Eiga Gekijo chain, the Komoro Central Theater is located in a lumber yard at the south entrance of the Otemon Gate of Komoro Castle in Komoro Town, housing 250 seats and a standing room that can occupy 150 people. This is the second Komoro movie theater to open in the area, with the other being the much-larger 680-seat Komoro Kinema.
As of 1953, there were a grand total of 80 movie theaters in the Nagano Prefecture at the time with 9 in the Kitasaku District. That number was dropped to 51 theaters in 1980, including three in the Kitasaku district.
Initially, the theater screened Japanese films from Toei, Toho, and Nikkatsu but to avoid competition with the nearby Komoro Kinema, it screened foreign and American films as well. Some notable films the Komoro Central Theater ran over the years include “Gone With The Wind”, “Waterloo Bridge”, and “Ben-Hur”. In addition to screening films, they also held performances that combined both films and popular songs that either came or didn’t came through the movie.
The Komoro Chuo Cinema closed for the final time in May 1993 and was subsequently demolished afterward.

Just login to your account and subscribe to this theater.