103 S. Main Street,
1 person favorited this theater
Firms: Frankel and Curtis
Previous Names: Gem Theatre, New Sound Cinema
Right before the Virginia Theatre opened its doors, there were 2 other theatres still in operation in Somerset. There was the Gem Theatre, and the Idle Hour Theatre.
The Gem Theatre was built as the Oddfellows Hall opening in 1890. It became the Gem Theatre in 1907 and became a pretty popular silent era house. It was notable for an exhibitor who worked at the Gem Theatre named Thomas M. Thatcher. Thomas is notable for his letter he wrote to a photoplay company simply named as Kalem for the “Hazards Of Helen” series on August 21, 1915 according to an article from the Vancouver Daily World in Vancouver, British Columbia. The Gem Theatre was closed in 1932.
On September 14, 1937 it reopened as the Kentucky Theatre with George Brent in “The Go-Getter”. Architects Frankel & Curtis out of Lexington, KY were responsible for the redo. It was Closed in November 1982. It reopened as the renamed New Sound Cinema in November 1983, but closed on April 8, 1984.
Just login to your account and subscribe to this theater.