Curzon Phoenix Cinema
3 people favorited this theater
Previously operated by: Curzon Cinemas
Constructed on former carparking space that itself was originally a bomb site. The Curzon Phoenix Cinema was erected in 1986 and opened on 20th March 1987 with the U.K. premiere of the Russian film “Come and See”. It was located next to the 1930 built Phoenix Theatre (architects Bertie Crewe & Cecil Masey) which is a Grade II Listed building.
The auditorium was comfortable but fairly uninteresting, the only feature being a silver venetian blind ceiling that opened to let sound through and closed when the house lights were up. Throughout its short life this cinema was run in conjuction with the Phoenix Theatre and shared the stunning Theodore Komisarjevsky designed foyer,giving cinemagoers a small taste of 1930’s splendour. Programming was booked by the Curzon Cinemas group and was arthouse and independent films
It finally closed in June 1998 with the film “Salut Cousin”, but the last images shown on screen were a collection of old trailers and adverts viewed by staff at the closing party. The building was demolished in 1999 and the land became an empty piece of ground again until around 2004 when a small block of apartments was built on the site.
Just login to your account and subscribe to this theater.